Glenfiddich Champion 2015 – Angus MacColl

Glenfiddich Champion 2015 – Angus MacColl

Angus MacColl was the overall winner of the 42nd Glenfiddich Invitational Solo Piping Championship at the Great Hall of Blair Castle last weekend. Competitors submitted six tunes of each type.

Results were as follows:

1st Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland, “Lament for the Laird of Annapool”
2nd Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland, “The Red-Speckled Bull”
3rd Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow, “The Old Men of the Shells”
4th Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, “The Earl of Ross’s March”
5th Finlay Johnston, Glasgow, “Lament for the Union”
Judges: Iain Morrison, John Wilson, Bill Wotherspoon

March, Strathspey & Reel

1st Angus MacColl, “MacLean of Pennycross,” “The Caledonian Society of London,” “Pretty Marion”
2nd Roddy MacLeod, “Hugh Kennedy, BSc.,” “The Caledonian Society of London,” “Cecily Ross”
3rd Stuart Liddell, “P-M John Stewart,” “Lady Loudon,” “The Little Cascade”
4th Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland, “Miss Elspeth Campbell,” “Bob of Fettercairn,” “Fiona MacLeod”
5th Bruce Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada, Leaving Lunga,” “Tulloch Castle,” “The Cockerel in the Creel”
Judges: Iain MacLellan, Colin MacLellan, Andrew Wright

Also competing but not in the prizes: Jack Lee,  John-Angus Smith and Iain Speirs.

Master of ceremonies was Bob Worrall.

The Balvenie Medal for services to piping was awarded to  Kate Paton of Dunoon, Scotland, for her commitment to teaching and piping programs in the Argyllshire area.